Harmann Singh



  • B.A., Columbia University, 2015
  • J.D., Harvard Law School 2019
  • cum laude


  • Hon. Andrew L. Carter, Jr., U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York

Fellowships. Leadership, & Recognition

  • Dean’s Award for Community Leadership, Harvard Law School
  • Presidential Public Service Fellowship Activities, Harvard Law School
  • Lani Guinier Fellowship in Social Justice and Democracy, Harvard Law School
  • Executive Editor for Article Selection, Harvard Civil Rights-Civil Liberties Law Review

Bar Admissions​

  • New York

Harmann Singh is an associate at Kaplan Hecker & Fink LLP. Harmann returns to the firm after completing a clerkship with the Honorable Andrew L. Carter, Jr. of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York.

Harmann graduated cum laude from Harvard Law School. At Harvard, Harmann was a member of the Criminal Justice Appellate Clinic, a student attorney for the Prison Legal Assistance Program, and an Executive Editor of the Harvard Civil Rights-Civil Liberties Law Review. He also served as a research assistant to Professors Matthew Stephenson, Lawrence Lessig, and Adriaan Lanni. Harmann received the Presidential Public Service Fellowship, the Lani Guinier Fellowship in Social Justice and Democracy, and the Dean’s Award for Community Leadership. Over his law school summers, he worked at the ACLU’s Racial Justice Program, the NAACP Legal Defense Fund, and the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee.

Prior to attending law school, Harmann worked as the Senior Policy Fellow at the Sikh American Legal Defense and Education Fund (SALDEF), where he managed the government relations and policy departments and worked on issues including airport profiling with the Transportation Security Administration, employment discrimination, and voting rights. Harmann graduated from Columbia University in 2015 with a B.A. in Math and Economics, and was a Truman Scholar and an Ethel Clyde Scholar.

Harmann will also clerk for the Honorable Raymond J. Lohier, Jr. of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit.